Spread the love

Hits: 7


It has come to the notice of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Zone C (South East), a social media report in a junk online blog (Everydaynews), purporting the split of NUJ into two. Our investigation shows that Petrus Obi, who runs the blog, which he has turned into an instrument of blackmail since his sack from SUN newspapers for un-professionalism and character deficit, authored the junk report. Further checks revealed that Petrus authored the fake news and used one Benson Agwu’s name as protem secretary. Both individuals are well known to the zone as unserious characters.

Petrus is known to be a failed journalist (sacked by SUN) and failed unionist (always involved in anti-union activities). He is being pushed by frustration. A man that fights at all levels including domestic fronts. And he is a serial loser!

Ordinarily, the fake news couldn’t have merited any response but for the sake of the unsuspecting public.

We therefore state categorically that concoctions contrived by Petrus and being circulated in his integrity and ethically-challenged blog (Everydaynews) are only figments of his frustrated imagination and the last kick of a dying horse.

The public is therefore advised to discountenance the fake and malicious mumbo-jumbo by Petrus and his sponsors.

The Nigeria Union of Journalists under the leadership of Chief Chris Isiguzo is very much intact as he continues to enjoy the support and solidarity of members as exemplified by an overwhelming vote of confidence passed on him by leaders of the Union across the country during the April 16, 2021 National Executive Council (NEC) meeting at Asaba, Delta State.

The antics of Petrus and his co-travelers are well known to us, as this is their usual strategy of trying to muddle the water each time a national election of the Union is around the corner. But like they failed before, the same unmitigated failure awaits them again! Not even the series of instigated law suits will distract our performing national President, or detract from his trail blazing leadership of the Union.

While we await appropriate action against Petrus and his partners by the national leadership of our great Union, the South East caucus of NUJ considers Petrus and his co-conspirators as black legs and prodigal sons, and will not give up in efforts to rein them in for rehabilitation.


  1. Comr. Kenneth Ofoma, Sec. Zone C.
  2. Ezeogo Boniface Okoro, national ex-officio Zone C.
  3. Sir Innocent Igwe, National Trustee, Zone C.
  4. Rex Arum, Chairman, Enugu.
  5. Tony Nwizzi, Chairman, Ebonyi.
  6. Sir Emma Ifesinachi, Chairman, Anambra.
  7. Chief Chris Akaraonye, Chairman, IMO.
  8. Victor Ndukwe , Chairman, Abia.
  9. Amaka Agbo, Secretary, Enugu.
  10. Nnamdi Akpa, Secretary, Ebonyi.
  11. Emma Udeagha, Secretary, Anambra.
  12. Juliet Din, Secretary, IMO.
  13. Adaeze Ralph Igbokwe, Secretary, Abia.
News Nigerian News