FG Doles Out N18bn For 4 New Varsities

FG Doles Out N18bn For 4 New Varsities

The Federal Government has approved the disbursement of N18 billion as take-off grant for four new universities.
The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mr Sunday Echono, disclosed this at a press conference in Abuja on Monday.
According to Echono, the take-off grant came after the promise made by President Muhammadu Buhari to establish Universities of Technology and Health Sciences in Nigeria during his campaign in 2015.

Echono said, “You will recall that when the President sought the people’s mandate for the office of the President in 2015, he promised to establish an apex national institute of technology in Abuja with six satellite universities of technology in each of the six geo-political zones.
“After a comprehensive review of the policy by key stakeholders in the education sector, it was resolved that the four existing universities of technology located in Yola, Akure, Owerri and Minna be upgraded while two additional universities of technology to be located in Jigawa and Akwa-Ibom states would be established for the purpose.
“Similarly, a National Institute of Technology shall be established in Abuja to serve essentially as a postgraduate centre devoted to research and innovation, drawing the best graduates from the six Universities of Technology as well as other graduates from reputable universities within and outside Nigeria.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.