Gov Ganduje retains Dangote as chancellor of KUST

Gov Ganduje retains Dangote as chancellor of KUST

Spread the love

Hits: 10

*Inaugurates Governing Councils For KUST, YUMSUK

Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje has retained Alhaji Aliko Dangote as the Chancellor of Kano State University of Science and Technology Wudil, while Professor Zubairu Iliyasu as Pro-Chancellor and Chairman Governing Council.

Governor Ganduje has also inaugurated fresh council members for the two state’s owned universities, Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil (KUST) and that of Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano (YUMSUK).

The reports that, the governing councils of the two varsities tenure expired before the fresh appointment was announced by Governor Ganduje.

At the inauguration, which took place during State Executive Council Meeting, held at Africa House, Government House, Kano, Wednesday, The governy reveals that, “You are being appointed based on your proven track records.”

In a statement signed and made available to Hotpen by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Kano State, Abba Anwar, Ganduje said “Your appointment is based on merit, capacity, capability, experience and your education. We are sure that you will provide enabling environment for the academic pursuit in these institutions of higher learning,” he explained.

The Governor explained that, he was sure that those appointed would provide enabling environment for academic excellence and peaceful atmosphere in those universities.

“All the universities are known for their peaceful atmosphere. Of which you will do more to maintain that in our citadel of learning,” he wished.

Members of the Council are Prof. Hamman Mahmoud, Prof. Garba Kawu, Dr Clement Igbaji, Alhaji Abubakar Jatau, A’isha Jafaru and Yahanasu Buba.

While Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano, (YUMSUK) has His Eminence Eze Dr Eberechi N. Dick (JP), Eze Udo I of Mgboko Ngwa Amaise Aut. Community, Patron Abia State Council of Traditional Rulers, as the Chancellor and Professor J.D. Amin former Vice Chancellor University of Maiduguri and Federal University, Dutse, as Pro-Chancellor and Chairman Governing Council.

Other members of the Council for YUMSUK are, Prof Muhammad Yakasai, Dr Rabi Jibrilla, Tajuddeen Dantata, Umar Abdullahi Karaye and Dr Binta Jibir Wudil.

All the Chairmen of the two Councils, who spoke on behalf of their members, thanked the governor for the confidence he reposed in them for the new assignment.

They all assured that, they would work tirelessly to prove their mettle. And to also take the two universities to greater heights in terms of academic excellence, productivity and moral standard.

Nigerian News